Kentucky Art Speaks

iWood : Ecodesign

In Kentucky Artist on September 30, 2010 at 1:17 pm

I stumbled upon this gem while at the Mellwood Trolley Hop last Friday. After looking around the studio, I was amazed to find iWood’s sunglasses appeal to fashionistas and treehuggers alike. I met the company’s President, Stephen McMenamin, and found out that not only are the chic shades made right here in the midwest, they also feature frames that are hand-crafted from reclaimed woods that once decorated the interiors of private luxury jets. In addition, the glue and protective coating used in final assemblage are formaldehyde free and emit no VOCs. They also look pretty damn cute. Look for these sunglasses in magazines such as Italian Vogue, Elle, Cosmopolitan, and Anthropologie. Click here to see frame styles and find out more about iWood. Below are some pictures I took of the beautiful iWood studio, I just realized I was so interested in the process that I didn’t a good picture of the final product. My apologies!

Leave a Reply

