Kentucky Art Speaks

Artist: Present & Past

In Artist: Present & Past on October 29, 2010 at 1:46 am

Sam (Mustard cat with red eyes), Andy Warhol, 1954.

This is the last post in my attempt to illustrate  what is important when deciding the success of a work of art! Here is a list of all the things that make understanding and appreciating a work easier:

Knowing the artist’s process

Knowing the artist’s nationality/race

Knowing the artist’s gender

Knowing the time period the work was created in

Considering how effectively the Elements of Art are used

Considering how effectively the Principles of Art are used

Now, I’m sure I’ve left out some things, and I probably still left a few people scratching their heads, but I did my best – appreciating art is an artform in itself, and it often takes a lifetime to get really good at it!

I think the most important thing to reinforce as I wrap this up is that sometimes it really is okay to like a work for a really stupid or maybe even biased reason. It just so happens that I appreciate the above work, Sam (Mustard cat with red eyes), for no other reason than I love cats, mustard yellow, and Andy Warhol. There you have it. A completely biased, dumb reason for accepting this painting as a work of art. Have a good weekend!

  1. The best artist’s statement to date that I’ve ever come across states: If you love it then it is art; if you don’t then it is not. Exactly!

Leave a Reply

